Skip to content

Poetry Fridays

August 10, 2007

One of the things I have learned this summer is that in the blog community the weekend means far fewer readers and comments. However, Ochuk is going to change that with Love Poetry Fridays. I like Ochuk’s blog, if you are looking for something interesting this weekend take a stroll through his site, I think you may like it.

I figured I might as well join Adam in his experiment and see if poetry will bring the masses on Friday flocking to my site. Here is a little ditty I dreamed up in my Genesis class. My professor showed us an extended limerick one of his students had written for his Genesis chapter summaries. Then inspiration hit and I articulated the following limerick in 10 seconds. Considering the time frame (and the use of the word Torah) I thought it was fairly impressive, but if I am wrong no one will be here to read it anyways! Eat your heart out Adam, Chris, and PoD.

A Limerick Inspired by REL 221
There once was a man from Gomorrah
His daughters were two dirty whoras
The got their father inebriated
And with him they procreated
The grossest story in all of the Torah

Haikus
I tried to haiku
But it did not rhyme at all
So I am quitting

5 Comments leave one →
  1. dmariemart permalink
    August 11, 2007 3:42 am

    Love the limerick!

  2. August 11, 2007 10:12 pm

    Thanks for the limerick, it was a blessing.

  3. August 12, 2007 12:07 am

    I do what I can… I do what I can.

  4. August 13, 2007 4:07 am

    You might enjoy this:

    http://ironiccatholic.blogspot.com/2007/06/poetry-winners-announced.html#links

    Samples:
    There came a notorious sinner,
    to the rectory just before dinner;
    “Hear a confession?” said the priest,
    “I don’t mind in the least! —
    though I fear, by the end, I’ll be thinner.”

    Everyone wants the dang Motu.
    So they have a nice Mass they can go to.
    But if priests don’t speak Latin
    Any more than your cat can
    What a Mass mess we’ll all have to sit through!

    God Bless,
    RyanL

    http://catholicaudio.blogspot.com

Trackbacks

  1. Poetry Fridays « Scotteriology

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

