Skip to content

The Burden of Proof

January 25, 2013

This video could be re-appropriated and used against a variety of dilettante skepticisms.

via

Climate denial is a form of ignorant skepticism. I believe what I believe and don’t confuse me with any facts.

However, actual  skepticism is only good as long as it is preceded and followed by an examination of facts. To use an illustration I have employed before: I have encountered many persons who declare with certainty upon reading an apologist such as Ray Comfort, “There is absolutely no evidence for evolution!” Of course, when pressed about which books on biology, geology, physics, astrophysics, and peer-reviewed scientific journals they have read the answer is usually quite close to zero…

But actual skepticism is good; however, “Genuine skepticism means considering the full body of evidence before coming to a conclusion.”

No comments yet

Leave a comment