Skip to content

Neo-Montanists and “Revelations”

May 23, 2008

Todd Bentley and the Florida outpouring has been getting its fair share of coverage, and I thought I would weigh in with a couple of thoughts, but before I do what will most likely be  a brilliant post (if I do humbly say so myself) on some theological difficulties with the “outpouring” I need to vent. Watching Bentley flared up one of my pet peeves for Christian speakers.

If you are going to “preach” (I’m not sure what other term to use in correlation with some of these guys but a blanket term must suffice) then you should probably try and get the name of the biblical books correct. You don’t say, “Matthews 3:10, Marks 2:4, or Malachis 3:6” therefore you should never, ever, not, under any circumstance utter the word “Revelations” in reference to the book of Revelation when you are “preaching.”

There is only one revelation. It is the Apocalypse of John. Now you know.

For some of the same silliness search Dogtube where one church actually has “Revelations” on their broadcast screen.

You think the angel may have mentioned in one of his multiple visits, “Uhhh…Todd. Umm…boy is this awkward. Anyways, I talked to John and he’s a little annoyed, and he asked me if you could start referring to his book by the name Revelation.”

Some of your rooms caught on fire by a spirit? Why am I thinking the spirit he refers to is more likely this guy?

OK this one was semantics.

On why much of the religion and suppositions of this “outpouring” more closely resemble Old Testament theology rather than New Testament theology to follow.

Philip Schaff on Montanism:

It is the first example of an earnest and well-meaning, but gloomy and fanatical hyper-Christianity, which like all hyper-spiritualism, is apt to end in the flesh.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2008 10:16 am

    Anyone who calls the book of Revelation ‘Revelations’s is immediately dismissed by me as a useless dilettante. If you can’t name the books rightly, shut up.

  2. Jake permalink
    May 23, 2008 5:26 pm

    Fun game: Count the number of times he says “Electric” or some variation thereof in the video.

    I learned that game in college. You can use it with all sorts of different words and gestures!!!

  3. May 24, 2008 6:19 am

    The other day I was decrying to my 22 year old the southern practice of “going to Wal-Marts”.

    He then pointed out to me that I regularly say I am going to “Kroger’s” when the store is actually called “Kroger.”

    I hate having children.

  4. May 26, 2008 3:13 am

    He had trouble getting his story started. “I saw Angles feet, but possibly Jesus feet, it was electric, it was a whirlwind, it was a 4 foot, or 3 foot pillar of fire”.

    But once he got going, and added the “ah”‘s to the end of a few words – I realized that he saw the classic Electric Fire Whirlwind Portal. And those kind are totally the coolest.

  5. bishopd permalink
    May 26, 2008 9:58 pm

    Wow… I wonder if it would be possible to turn “speeching” about supposed truths in the Bible into more of a subjective experience?

    “Ladies and Gentlemen-uh, welcome-uh to the world of the Elastic Bible-uh where we can stretch it-uh into any shape and size we want-uh”!!!

Leave a Reply

