Skip to content

Worship Songs That Suck…

November 26, 2008

Let’s face it the vetting process for “worship” songs just ain’t what it used to be, and even when proper theology was a little more strictly demanded C.S. Lewis still thought of them as fifth rate poetry set to sixth rate music.

If it’s on the radio and gives me an ecstatic feeling while I’m driving in my car seems to be the criteria for some worship leaders today… that and if Chris Tomlin sings it.

Lots of songs are coming out of many different traditions, and not all of them are great. Some songs just suck. Sometimes they suck musically. Sometimes they suck theologically.

So my question for you today is what worship song or songs irritate you–which is kind of ironic–and you would prefer never to have sung at your church again. I’ll get the ball rolling: Our God is an Awesome God.

Now I know this might seem like an odd choice but let me clarify. The chorus is OK and a decent song for churches today, though I would ask what people think when they sing “He reigns from heaven above” and if they may have a too transcendent understanding of God. Then we would have to follow this song with “I’m here to Meet With You Come and Meet with Me” and invite God from “heaven above” to have authority in this place. Seriously, am I the only one that has thoughts like this go through their head during worship?

Those semantics aside: the first verse of “Awesome God” is horrible. In fact, it sucks. I mean have you ever really listened to and thought about this epic piece of crap?

When He rolls up His sleeves
He ain’t just puttin’ on the ritz
(our God is an awesome God)
There is thunder in His footsteps
And lightning in His fist
(our God is an awesome God)
Well, the Lord wasn’t joking
When He kicked ’em out of Eden
It wasn’t for no reason that He shed his blood
His return is very close and so you better be believing
that our God is an awesome God

It may be that this is the single worst verse ever written in the history of music, which is rather ironic considering how good the chorus is. “When He rolls up His sleeves He ain’t just puttin’ on the ritz” may be the worst line ever written in the worst verse ever written. I wish I had the time to fully deconstruct this foul smelling turd of a verse for you guys. It is bad on so many levels. Bad lazy song writing and weak theology. When will Christians ever learn that the most correct way for us to speak about God is God revealed in Christ? It boggles my mind when the majority of Christians I meet still have pretty much exclusively OT theologies for God, but call themselves followers of Christ. When this happens there is a bifurcation of the godhead that taken to its fullest (and most ridiculous) conclusion looks more like the Westboro Not-Baptist Cult than what I read in the NT.

Anyways, I am expecting some good comments on this one: don’t let me down!

36 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2008 10:32 am

    Lewis was right.

  2. November 26, 2008 10:47 am

    i was always a big fan of “Draw Me Close” with its hyper-sentimental drivel and no mention of the One to whom we sing (honestly…could sing to my wife without a single change in words). Also, enjoy “Heart of Worship”…always fun to sing how important it is that the music should fade…you can’t put that one in a service anywhere and not have it say something bad about what’s preceded or what follows. the verse of “come, now is the time to worship” has always really bothered me.

    shall we go on?

    [agathos: Hey Mike, good to hear from you; “you can’t put that one in a service anywhere and not have it say something bad about what’s preceded or what follows.” Lol, good stuff.]

  3. November 26, 2008 11:21 am

    I have a lot of least favorite worship songs so it’s hard to choose. If it’s won a Dove award and is on any compilation worship cd sold on late night tv, then it probably makes my worst list.

    I will say this though about artistic expression in worship meeting theology. I agree our artistic expression in music must be faithful to scripture, edifying to the body and be built upon solid theology. BUT I think a lot of people get hyper-critical and start over analyzing songs that take a particular artistic viewpoint, that very well may be narrow, on some spiritual theme. No song is going to be able to give a *full* theological view on every topic and remain a simple, musically creative song. The song would go on for 30 minutes with 20 verses.

    Our phrasing, imagery and metaphors in songs shouldn’t be confusing, they should clarify. But if someone wanted to they could tear apart every worship song ever written as not painting a complete picture, some aspect of the godhead was missed or inadequately explained in someone’s opinion. So I think we have to have some balance here.

    When choosing a song to lead in church or writing my own, I pray for wisdom and clarity, but have to operate in God’s grace knowing that, I’m an imperfect man and this is an imperfect song and though I try my best to eliminate distraction and confusion….some may remain. But that Jesus would prevail through it and cover it.

    [Agathos: Good thoughts Kyle. I would not and I am not going to deconstruct every worship song to try and find something wrong with it, but there are some songs that I think miss by a large enough margin that they should be no longer used. “The song would go on for 30 minutes with 20 verses.” LOL. I have been to some charismatic churches though where it felt like the song went on for thirty minutes as they repeated the chorus ad nauseum!]

  4. November 26, 2008 11:41 am

    Come, Now is the Time to Worship….by far the worst worship song ever….

  5. November 26, 2008 1:22 pm

    I have lots of trouble with many worship songs. I find it is easier to worship to good songs that are very rarely related (as far as I know) to Christianity. Something seems wrong with writing a love song to God that will be shopped out.

    On that note, the “Awesome God” song was written by Rich Mullins, who was by far a “typical” Christian musician. I didn’t know him as a friend, but I did have a chance to interact with him several times. His life makes listening to his music possible for me. He knew he had issues with managing money (among other things), and eventually gave it all away and allowed his church to manage the finances that allowed him to have food, shelter, etc. At the end of his life he was living and ministering among the poor on an Indian reservation, when he wasn’t driving his jeep around to gigs.

    He liked to be brutally honest both in private conversation and on stage, often to the effect of loosing fans who thought he should be “more spiritual”. I can attest to this in the environments in which I interacted with him. In a small gathering I had with him, someone told him “I love to listen to your music during my quiet times.” Rich, in the middle of eating a sandwich, casually said, “That’s too bad . . . I didn’t think you were supposed to listen to anything during a quiet time. It’s a quiet time, right?” The person had no idea how to respond. Another time, I was hosting Rich for an event, and someone mentioned “Awesome God” as a great song. Rich mentioned then (and during the show) that he never understood why people liked that song. He thought it was pretty cheesy and only wrote it because he needed some money, and he knew unfortunately that someone in the Christian music industry would buy it. I was quite amused to see how upset several people were at such a comment.

    [agathos: good stuff JD. Thanks.]

  6. November 26, 2008 1:50 pm

    Oh. My. Life. I had no idea what you were on about when you said you hated ‘Our God Is An Awesome God’ – I quite like it. But it turns out I’d only ever sung the chorus (several times), and that there are verses to it as well, which I’d never known of.

    And what terrible verses they are too…

    Thankfully the video is stonking…
    http://www.truveo.com/Awesome-God/id/2244700064

  7. November 26, 2008 3:28 pm

    ^ Awesome stories.

    “Open the eyes of my Heart” is a song that should never be sung, or recorded again. I think there was a 4 year period there, where you were required to put in on your album, if you wanted it carried in the local bible music store.

    “I could sing of your love Forever” – always makes me laugh. I could sing of your love for 4 minutes…

    “Heart of Worship” is horrible, and confusing to unchurched people. As is “Days of Elijah” – even though that’s Jake’s favorite.

    That “You give and Take away” song is another beautiful theological gem.

    [agathos: “I think there was a 4 year period there, where you were required to put in on your album, if you wanted it carried in the local bible music store.” ROFL… so true.]

  8. November 26, 2008 5:40 pm

    Part of the issue with “worship” music is the consumer culture that we’ve built into our expectations of church and into our expectations of “worship”.

    Worship is “for God”, and yet we talk about OUR preferences, and OUR styles and whether WE liked the worship service, and whether the worship ministered to US (which is really weird if woship’s purpose is to minister to God)… the list could go on and on.

    So we start with the wrong orientation, and then ask the wrong question, and wonder why we can’t get the right answer…

    BTW: Love the Rich Mullin stories!

    [agathos: “Worship is “for God”, and yet we talk about OUR preferences, and OUR styles and whether WE liked the worship service, and whether the worship ministered to US…” Yup. Hammer –> Nail.]

  9. kaydonthedinosaur permalink
    November 26, 2008 9:07 pm

    There are too many to mention right now, but I will say that “Awesome God” is the worst song that Rich Mullins ever wrote/sang.

    …Which is really weird, since it’s the only song by him that some people know, which makes me sad.

  10. Jake permalink
    November 27, 2008 1:40 am

    You know, I could go on and on and on and on about which song falls flat and why this song sucks donkey balls and that song is just plain heretical but really, what good is that going to do here. I mean come on. This is past the point of being cathartic and has now moved into the realm of unhealthy fixation and self destructive perseveration. It’s bloody ridiculous and we all sound like a bunch of bitter old wankers who always tell the same old stories going on and on about the same old shit that we see as problematic.

    This is not a new problem. In fact, tension re: music in church is probably one of the oldest problems in church history. The issue itself will not ever resolve, it’s up to the people with the problem to figure out how to deal with it. So get over yourselves. All of you. This problem has NOTHING TO DO WITH THE MUSIC. It has EVERYTHING to do with the listener.

    I’ve been saying this time and time again in the comments of this blog but apparently no one has the intelligence here to understand the truth of what I’m so I’m now resorting to the “Shock Treatment Method”:

    YOU ARE ALL INTELLECTUAL RETARDS WITH YOUR HEADS SO FAR UP YOUR COLLECTIVE BLESSED ASSURANCES THAT WHEN YOU BURP IT COMES OUT AS A FART.

    Have I got your attention now? Good, I hope so. Now sit down and pay very close attention to what I’m saying because I’m going to use some big words here in my Big Boy voice ok?

    Music is inherently meaningless. It is neither good nor bad, pure nor evil, awesome nor otherwise. Meaning is inflected and injected into the song via cognition, or how you and I interpret and act upon the world around us. This means that the effect that music has upon us is ENTIRELY SUBJECTIVE. Or, for those of you who still haven’t got what I’m saying: You will get out of a song, whatever you’re willing to put into it. It is entirely up to you.

    This bears significant importance to the role of worship music in the church obviously because, if what I’m saying is right (and it most certainly f***ing is), then the state of the heart of the worshipper is of equal or greater importance to how the song sounds/what the song is saying.

    Cognition is a beautiful thing. How you think influences how you feel influences how you act influences how you feel influences how you think influences how you act etc. etc. etc. This process is going to be different for all of us. A song that you may not like might be particularly poignant for another. Do the verses for Awesome God hurt your big intellectual brain? awww poor muffin. I will tear my clothes, wear sackcloth and pour ashes on my head for you.

    No I won’t.

    Because at this point, I could care less about what the lot of you have to think regarding the issue of worship music. Strong words yes? They are. And I hope some of you academic lot are squirming and feel a little bit uncomfortable with this bit of an admonishment.

    The reason I want to get in your faces a little bit is because this is ALL NEGATIVE. The bitching and the moaning is fine, but only if your solution minded about it in the end.

    You guys, there are dedicated and amazing people that are busting their asses for you every week to make sure that there’s music being played in your church. Big church, small church whatever, there are people that are literally killing themselves trying to put together a setlist or a service that they know is only going to get ripped down and scrutinized by you lot who would rather sit arms crossed and moan about how “THIS IS NOT DOCTRINALLY SOUND!!!!” instead of coming along side, getting your hands dirty and CHANGING THE WAY MUSIC IS DONE IN YOUR CHURCH ON THE GROUND LEVEL.

    For pete’s sake you guys enough is enough is enough is enough. I’ve said it 3 times now and I will say it again. And I am saying this to you, the academics, the theologians, the intellectuals all you left brain’d f*** tards who don’t know an Emaj from an Emin though I love you anyways:

    It has become imperative that you theologians lead the the way. Not in a musical sense (because I’ve heard some of you sing, it’s not pretty is it), but from a cognitive point of view. Change the way the people in your church interpret the world around them by leading people to a fuller understanding of God, give your songwriters a deeper foundation in scripture and a balanced worldview that’s as flexible as it is firm. I don’t know what made this nut job fake cancer besides some serious shortcomings to his mental well being, but freak shows aside, I truly believe we need a more grounded approach to music in the church so that we have something to anchor our emotional responses to.

    Enough bashing the songs. It’s like blaming the table for a shitty meal that you shouldn’t have left in the oven that long anyways. Enough bashing the people leading worship in churches where no one else has the balls to do it but enough “courage” to show disdain for it from the pews. They’re just filling a role that no one else will.

    I’m turning the tables on you now readers of Scotteriology. If you don’t like the musical content of your church, actively get involved in a way that can positively impact it. Or else shut the hell up.

  11. November 27, 2008 5:38 am

    Worship is “for God”??? No, that is not true. What kind of God requires our worship? That kind of thinking leads to the inability of songwriters to treat their songwriting as a craft, and really amounts to idolatry. Worship does not make up for something lacking in God’s activity in history. Worship isn’t even a demand – it is, as Paul puts it, a reasonable response (that goes far beyond singing).

    Worship is about us. It points us in the right direction. Worship is a theological vehicle. Worship is about building good habits. Worship is about giving us a vehicle to express our faith and spirituality in a tangible way. No matter how you look at it – worship is about and for us. That is really the only philosophy of worship that would support your critique of worship – if it was “for God” then on what grounds could you ever critique it? But if it is “for us”, as I content here, then we can legitimately critique it on the basis of how it functions in and for us.

    [agathos: OK, I’ll bite. Worship–which is way bigger than only singing–should be directed towards God. Is that more palatable than “for” God for you?]

  12. November 27, 2008 5:41 am

    Oh, and now that I’ve read Jake’s comments. A bit harsh but still I give him an AMEN.

  13. November 27, 2008 8:33 am

    Jake: I am printing out your comment and framing it. I’m thinking of making everyone in my church sign it as a sort of a mandatory “worship release form”. Well done sir. Well done.

  14. November 27, 2008 9:04 am

    “YOU ARE ALL INTELLECTUAL RETARDS WITH YOUR HEADS SO FAR UP YOUR COLLECTIVE BLESSED ASSURANCES THAT WHEN YOU BURP IT COMES OUT AS A FART.”

    To the tune of “come, now is the time to worship?”

  15. November 27, 2008 9:12 am

    and jake, even IF you’re right (and it may come across as arrogant to say that you certainly f***ing are…just a thought), and even if your admonishment is warranted (likely true) you don’t know what you’re talking about with everyone.

    As it happens, I am a worship leader and a theologian. I’m 30, have a masters in systematic theology and have been leading worship in some capacity since i was 13, so don’t paint with the “you’re all academics who sit back and do nothing” brush. I do my best to choose songs that are theologically sound, that will speak to the heart and minds of listeners and participants, to worshippers. I try (not always successfully) to write theologically sound and spiritually edifying songs. So now am I allowed to say that some of them suck?

  16. November 27, 2008 9:24 am

    A) Ad Hoc (err… make that hominem) attacks hurt, not help your argument. For instance in the above article you will see no attacks on the author merely the lyrics

    B) Many worship leaders do not want us “intellectual” types to inform their Jesus is my boyfriend songs lyrics, and because some think they “get” their songs “from God” they are not open to a process that may be more strident theologically

    C) If you don’t like it you ain’t got to read it

    D) I have helped for years in churches setting up equipment on Sunday mornings, working sound, choosing songs, and have even sung for worship. This is an unwarranted criticism. Not all of us merely sit back and criticize from the sidelines.

    E) Award goes to the next person who can identify the scarred EX-worship leader from the responses above

    F) In two years this is the second time I have deconstructed a worship song. Wow. How repetitive. I’ve posted more on Obama and in a shorter time frame

    G) It is equally hypocritical and problematic for someone who no longer attends church to criticize those in the church who criticize those in the church. At least my observations are from within and with pastoral concerns. It’s not that I think we should stop having worship, but we should be self aware and honest enough to move in a better direction if there are places we have become stagnant; especially, if this comes from unrealized presuppositions. This may sound like “whining” to you, but it is not.

    H) Finally, I have excellent musical tastes and sensibilities — just like everyone else!

    I) I have long held that any f***tard (to use your phrase) can walk into a room and point out a problem. However, very few can suggest a solution to that problem that will actually correct the problem; this is why consultants make soo much money. Some of what goes on here is identifying problems, which unfortunately some Christians have loss the ability to do. That part is free. The solutions are in my new book: for just 29.99 I can solve all of your problems and set the course of your life and church in a new, more holy, direction. You can’t pass a deal like this up, but wait there’s more….

    J) How many adult beverages were consumed before your attack…er, critique

  17. November 27, 2008 10:18 am

    “Ad Hoc attacks hurt, not help your argument. For instance in the above article you will see no attacks on the author merely the lyrics”

    I once beat up Brian Doerkson but it had nothing to do with worship music 🙂 (i hope you know i’m kidding…love you Brian)

  18. November 27, 2008 10:26 am

    *and scott, you may mean ad hominem attacks rather than ad hoc…those are just more fun!

  19. November 27, 2008 10:33 am

    Of course, you are right. That’s what happens when I type a response before I have had my first coffee.

    Ad hominem powers activate

  20. November 27, 2008 11:17 am

    Actually I know for a fact that Brian Doerkson is brutal on his own lyrics. Sometimes a song just takes on a life of its own. I’m actually extremely picky about the songs I choose when I lead any worship in song (I can’t stand songs about God in the third person as if God were just something we sing about in a detached way – plus you have to choose between he/she and I don’t even want to go down that road). But what I liked about Jake’s comment was his call to do more than bitch about lyrics. I think we need both. Too many people don’t think about what they sing – but you can bet it does influence their theology.

    This is a good discussion, even if it just gets us thinking.

  21. November 27, 2008 12:13 pm

    Frank,

    Good point. There are two extremes to this conversation. On the one hand thinkers who do nothing, and on the other, doers who don’t think. I would suggest, however, that most of us probably fall somewhere between these two extremes.

    So many questions that could be asked. What is worship (surely more than the singing on Sunday morning), and how do theologians, pastors, and intellectuals inform the thought world of the mystics and musicians whose music and metaphors can so powerfully communicate spiritual matters in ways that mere words fail, but in a way that is spiritually healthy and theologically satisfying?

    Perhaps, in the same way that we theologians separate first order practice (the actual living of faith) and second order reflection ( the actual work of theology) perhaps, we may understand our conversations about worship songs and lyrics similarly. We have the first order practice corporately on Sunday morning, but we still reflect on the words we use to worship and their meaning for our communities. While the second order does not supersede the first it is still vital. To make a critique of one (lyrics) a critique of the other (the practice of worship) is a fairly large mistake and misunderstanding on what it means to reflect on what it means to be the people of God and the life and word entrusted therein.

    Thoughts?

    “Too many people don’t think about what they sing – but you can bet it does influence their theology.”

    Too true, too true.

  22. Jake permalink
    November 28, 2008 9:42 am

    So the moral here is to use Caps Lock and some asterisk’s in order to elicit the maximum reader response… 😉

    Harsh and biting yes and I apologize to those who think I went too far. But I wanted to make a very large and important point and sometimes making yourself appear a little villainous can stir up some better discussion than you’d get otherwise. (For the record Scott, our friendship has been built on Ad Hom attacks and video games. If you take out the ad hom, we’d have almost nothing left!)

    I think you raise a valid point. There seems to be an imbalance between first order practice and second order reflection. On a Sunday morning then, could we say that our manner of reflection is an aide to our manner of practice? That the song (not just the lyrics but the music, the style etc…) is the vehicle that we use to engage in the act of corporate worship? If so, then I think this gets us closer to the cause of our discomfort, for the manner of our reflection should enable our practice of worship. I would like to then suggest that where much of the negativity in what we’re saying in this comment thread is coming from.

    We are being spoon fed on Sunday mornings.

    Maybe our reflection has become a little too guided. A little too easy? Scott, since you’re using lyrics here as your main focal point let me use a bit of a lyrical juxtaposition:

    Chris Tomlin
    “There is an endless song
    Echoes in my soul
    I hear the music ring
    And though the storms may come
    I am holding on
    To the rock I cling”

    Horatio G. Spafford
    “When peace like a river attendeth my way
    When sorrow like sea billows roll”

    If we are to reflect on the first lyric we see that it’s very declarative. It’s definitive. This is fine in and of itself, but what I think you and I are looking for is totally embodied by the second lyric.

    Tension.

    Not tension in a bad way, but tension in way that can lead to greater reflection. Something that may cause us a bit of dissonance at first, and then enables us to resolve that and come to a greater conclusion of who God is. That’s why I think “It Is Well” is one of the most brilliant songs ever written. He says “My sin, oh the bliss…” Who puts the words sin and bliss together? But it causes you to stop and think. The revelation is not handed to us. It is something that we must work out for ourselves.

    That’s high art. It causes tension and forces you to resolve it. We need more of this in the church. We need more art.

  23. November 28, 2008 9:47 am

    Scott I think you hit it head on, not much to add to that other than, word!

    The fruit of us getting off balance on our critique is that it ends up paralyzing the church. I’ve seen and worked with a lot of talented, passionate musicians and songwriters who stop writing for the church because they don’t feel like they can sing anything completely correct or they are afraid of being accused of being prideful or having a “worship star” mentality because they sing their own songs.

    Part of that is immaturity on the musician/songwriter but also it’s immaturity on the church’s part in their attitude. I’m not afraid of critique and no Christian should be. We just need to make sure our critique is really Godly encouragement/admonishment/correction and not bitter complaint. I don’t think anyone here is doing that and I greatly value the thoughts expressed here.

    Keep challenging your worship leaders, encourage them, pray for them and then in the end, stick up for them and protect them as brothers.

  24. November 28, 2008 9:55 am

    “Too many people don’t think about what they sing – but you can bet it does influence their theology.”

    there are others too who over think what they sing…

    I am reminded of the scene in C.S. Lewis’ The Silver Chair, where Puddleglum responds to the boy Eustace, who says he knows a think or two about dragons, “Yes, but you don’t know everything.”

    I think graciouness is important because, academics don’t know everything, but I think we can show graciousness where it is needed and while “worship” can get pretty crazy, graciousness is needed to bring correction in this arena.

    One “worship” I pretty much refuse to sing is “I am a friend of God.”

  25. November 28, 2008 3:23 pm

    We do need more art, and something deeper.

    I think the commercialization of worship music, and like Scott said, people claiming anything they write is from God has caused a great pile of songs that suck. I mean, let’s not forget, that’s what were on about here.

    Maybe not suck, but the standard for art and performance can be set really, really low that it becomes frustrating to those who seek awesomeness, or too embarrassing for those who want to bring their unchurched friends.

    Then the whole thing becomes 3rd rate music, ladies waving flags, and youth groups dancing to Carmen songs.

    I had an epiphany about the level of art I will instill if ever in a church again. If people expect pastors to preach to the best of their ability, then as a musician I should play to the best of my ability. And if that means 2 octave sweep arpeggios in Dm (the saddest of all keys) then so be it. The old stuffy christians who don’t like loud music, or fast songs, or tight pants, with one leg up on the monitor in the world’s most awesome pose while I play can suck it.

  26. Jake permalink
    November 28, 2008 3:32 pm

    J, I think the words “Tight pants” “One leg up on the monitor” and “Suck it” should be used in close proximity more often.

  27. December 1, 2008 5:57 am

    Worst worship song? Hmm. Well, my friends and I always make dirty, inappropriate jokes about the chorus of “Trading My Sorrows.” We laugh about it like we’re a bunch of junior high boys. Is that bad?

  28. December 1, 2008 1:56 pm

    Jake:

    I have considered your argument. I have long bemoaned the inability of worship leaders to put together sets that aren’t either tired reruns (hymnal) or poppy crap (the Dove Award crowd). After carefully reading and re-reading your argument in defense of worship leaders (aka, the guys who couldn’t cut it in a real band, and didn’t make the grade to become pastors) I have come to the following conclusion:

    Nah, you’re off your nut. Worship leader types just need to get off their asses and start producing doctrinally sound music. Period. It’s painfully obvious that they’re the problem. Why should anyone else have to sully themselves with that level of drudgery?

    Of course, I say all this in Christian love.

    Sincerely [pulling your leg],

    Brian 😉

    BTW— Spafford, huh? I’d agree about the lyrical genius of “It Is Well,” but I can’t even sing it in Sunday service without hearing Jars of Clay’s recent cover in my head. Throws off my timing entirely.

  29. Jake permalink
    December 1, 2008 4:20 pm

    Brian, well done sir. I tip my hat to you.

  30. January 18, 2009 10:50 pm

    Hi everyone, I got to this site because we sang “I am a Friend of God” in church today and I wasn’t sure if I was the only one who had a problem with it.

    I live in Russia, and most of the songs mentioned here have been translated into Russian. If you don’t like them in the original, imagine how much more awkward they sound in a different language…

    However, a lot of the points mentioned here are arguable 😉

  31. christianmusicreview permalink
    April 10, 2009 9:16 am

    Much much agreed. Good work.

  32. January 25, 2010 4:28 am

    I’m sure this list is dead now. But my all time most horrid worship song is called True Love. When I was a worship leader at a previous church, I had a pastor who got upset because I wouldn’t sing this Vineyard song that they all loved so much. Sorry! Not going to do it. Check out these lyrics.
    True Love

    Jesus I need to know true love
    Deeper than the love found on earth
    Take me into the King’s chamber
    Cause my love to mature

    Let me know the kisses of Your mouth
    Let me feel Your warm embrace
    Let me smell the fragrance of Your touch
    Let me see Your lovely face
    Take me away with You
    Even so, Lord, come
    I love You Lord
    I love You more than life

    My heart, my flesh yearn for You, Lord
    To love You is all I can do
    You have become my sole passion
    Cause my love to be true

  33. January 25, 2010 4:37 am

    Sometimes a worship leader just has to say no to the trend!

  34. Jake permalink
    January 25, 2010 9:24 pm

    That’s not even trying to hide anything. And the award for blatantly overt sexual overtones goes to…

  35. Mr. Neutron permalink
    December 8, 2011 11:41 am

    Dude,

    This song came out in like 1988… IT WAS THE 80’s MAN! THE 80’s!

    Things were like… you know… Hokey, corny… I mean c’mon… Carmen… Stryper… Petra…

    Seriously, get some perspective. How old are you? You had to be there to understand it man.

    I had a history professor once tell me that you can’t judge the people of the past based on what we know today—they didn’t know that then. You have to judge them on what they knew then. A slight paraphrase of the Atticus Finch adage about needing to walk around in another man’s skin a while.

    Okay… Yeah Carmen was kinda’ weird then too.

    For reals though Brotherman, tone down the rhetoric—using suck and worship in the same sentence makes you look bad… More so than any song you denigrate based your opinion. Oh my gosh… I just used suck and worship in the same sentence… Ahhh! I did it again!

    Jesus love you!

    Semper Fidelis and in His grace,

    Mr. Neutron

Trackbacks

  1. Jesus paid it all, and thanks for Heaven « Christian Music Review

Leave a Reply

