Skip to content

Can We Get a Reset Button Over Here?

November 28, 2008

Classic moment in one of my classrooms yesterday.  The professor was explaining the practices of the Essenes at Qumran and how they did not marry.  Somehow he thought this a fine moment to segue into a not so short sermonette on Christians becoming unequally yoked with unbelievers.  And then from there–for some reason yet to be determined–he felt that would be a good jumping off point for giving some advice to all the Christian ladies in the house. Exact quote that forcefully ended the diatribe:

“I’m telling you single girls right now if you get involved with a married man, in the end, you’ll just get screwed.”

Errrr. I says pardon?  Really?  I kid you not he said this quite loudly, paused for about five seconds, and then just moved on to the next subject. I sat in shock for about ten seconds looking around the room to make sure I just heard what I just heard, and then attempted to not giggle like a schoolgirl for several minutes while trying to follow the rest of the lecture.

“I’m telling you single girls right now if you get involved with a married man, in the end, you’ll just get screwed.”  Wow.  I’m guessing if this statement was in a paper, or book submission he would be asked most strenuously to re-word it in a less ambiguous and offensive manner.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2008 9:18 pm

    If I had a prof get off on a tangent like that I’d probably say something. It would definitely make their end of semester evaluation.

  2. Jake permalink
    November 28, 2008 10:15 pm

    EPIC. Like, Peter Jackson, Tolkien, LOTR EPIC.

    Reminds me of a certain conversation about a mailbox once. I’m so sad I wasn’t there.

  3. November 29, 2008 6:06 am

    We had a pastor who would sometimes go off on tangents like that — during one sermon about who knows what, he started going off on how girls shouldn’t dress androgynously.

  4. December 10, 2008 8:39 am

    I dunno, I’m betting it made the class a bit more entertaining. Had I been there I would have been giggling nonstop, so kudos to you for keeping quiet.

Leave a Reply

