Skip to content

1 Enoch 6

May 12, 2009

Usually on sites such as the Biblioblog Top 50 I am put under the category of “general”. I hope this is because I post on a wide variety of topics, but it also may be that some of the nonsense I produce fits under no actual academic heading!

However, in my graduate studies I focus primarily on Second Temple Judaism. One of the books that I have done some work with in the past and plan to focus on in my dissertation is 1 Enoch. Simply put I believe that the Enochian corpus hovers likes a shadow behind the NT and is a vital component in understanding the worldview development and theological beliefs of some groups in Second Temple Judaism.

As part of my process of becoming more familiar with the text I am putting together some resources for myself that I thought I would share with anyone that might be interested. Not really sure how many people are trolling the internet for 1 Enoch resources, but oh well.

The first part is pdfs of 1 Enoch 6:4-8 from 4Q201 an Aramaic fragment from Qumran, and all of 1 Enoch 6 in Greek. This section begins the story of the rebellion of the Watchers and with 1 Enoch 7 elaborates on some of the narrative gaps in Genesis 6:1-4. The 4Q201 is backwards on the pdf but it will be more than usable for reading the Aramaic and writing a translation.

Second are flashcards of all the main nouns and verbs with parsings: one set for the Aramaic translation and one for the Greek. These flashcards were made with a free online program called Anki that I have been quite happy with.

Anki is a spaced repetition system (SRS). It helps you remember things by intelligently scheduling flashcards, so that you can learn a lot of information with the minimum amount of effort.

It takes merely a few moments to become associated with its intuitive navigation and like I said it’s free which is always a good price. As well, someone has created flashcards from the vocabulary of William Mounce’s Greek grammar and there are free Biblical Hebrew flashcards available at the site’s download page,  so if anyone is looking for a refresher tool in either of these ancient languages this may be a valuable tool.

The pdfs are linked above, however, if anyone wants the flashcards they will have to write me at scotteriology [at] gmail [dot] com as I am unable to link them here, and I will happily send them along. I’m going to do at least chs. 6-11 from 1 Enoch in Aramaic and Greek so as I work through those I will post them here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 12, 2009 4:14 pm

    Thanks for the introduction to Anki. It looks like a great tool!

Leave a Reply

