Skip to content

Jim West Shuts Down Blog

January 1, 2010

Well this is not a good start to 2010.

Upon trying to access Jim’s blog earlier today I was informed that it was behind password protection. After a brief chat with Dr. West on Facebook I was informed by the man himself that he has decided to cease blogging. I for one am disappointed.

Dr. West’s blog was one I read often before I started blogging myself. Once I began I soon discovered–as most likely many of you have–that in the biblioblogging community there is probably no one better at providing feedback in some form than Dr. Jim West. Sometimes it’s a comment, sometimes a link, and sometimes a review. Dr. West’s first review of my work still makes me laugh:

I can’t think of anything that briefly describes what Scott has done to Peter, to Matthew, to the art and science of exegesis, to historical studies, and to Church history (not to mention Roman Catholic theology).

If you have ever wondered what can be done to the Bible if one’s imagination is fertile enough, then do be sure to skip on over to Scott’s posting. To say that Scott has violated the text is such a grand understatement that it is itself profanity.

I also seemed to earn the adjectives “reprobate, vile, depraved” from Dr. West at various times for my sustained irreverent comments about Zwingli.  However, much more often, Jim liked my posts, made comments or linked to them, and managed to even write some very nice things about yours truly:

he’s honest, direct, unapologetic, theologically insightful, witty, amusing, cantankerous, a bit rude, uncouth, brilliant, and always, always, worth reading.

Actually, I might have to put that in the sidebar as an endorsement.

I read Jim’s site daily for the many humorous and interesting things he had to say, and for how up to date he kept me on theology, archaeology, American Idol, publishing, the evils of homeschooling, the totally depraved, the heresy of Zwingli, etc.

You will be missed Jim. I hope you change your mind and come back soon.

27 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2010 5:43 pm

    Wow! Not a good start for the new year. I will miss his blog as well.

  2. January 1, 2010 6:21 pm

    hasn’t he done this before…?

    • January 1, 2010 6:25 pm

      Nope. Last time someone hacked his site and deleted everything, and he contemplated retiring. This time he has decided on his own to shut it down.

      • January 2, 2010 9:04 am

        As Loren’s post shows, Jim has actually deleted his blog twice before the alleged hacking incident: Jim Will Be Back!.

  3. January 1, 2010 6:46 pm

    Yeah, this is too bad. It was a huge pleasure to get to finally meet Jim at SBL.

  4. January 1, 2010 7:51 pm

    sad news

  5. johnwloftus permalink
    January 2, 2010 2:15 am

    Well, I for one know that it consumes a great deal of time. Sometimes I too wonder if it’s worth it.

    I sure wish he would answer Dr. Hector Avalos’ accusations before he quit though.

  6. January 2, 2010 3:55 am

    Blogdom will be a kindler gentler place without him.

  7. January 2, 2010 6:42 am

    I’d be surprised if Jim’s presence didn’t live on in the comments on our blogs.

    I for one think, much as I did disagree with Jim on some points, his sharp mind will be missed. He was a prolific and articulate blogger. I can’t help thinking though that he simply got tired of the flack – his last few days blogging indicated that he’d stirred up something in the comments. I’m sure most of us can relate, kicking someones sacred cow can get quite nasty on the net as supposed anonymity can really bring out the arsehole in a person.

    Sad day indeed.

  8. January 2, 2010 9:25 am

    Did Jim say anything about his plans for the SBL affiliation he was spearheading?

  9. January 2, 2010 9:37 am

    i feel like that scene from forrest gump, where one day forrest just stopped jogging. and all those who were jogging with him just looked at each other and said, ‘now what are we supposed to do?’

  10. January 2, 2010 9:53 am

    One of the most honest, intelligent and insightful bloggers out there, in fact, if Jim is willing to get back in -line or on- line I’m willing to give him my right arm, first born son, child support payments and stop listening to blue grass music… please, as this is one of those blogs that is the most important one out there.

  11. johnwloftus permalink
    January 2, 2010 10:28 am

    Joe, perhaps that’s what he’s waiting for? Let’s all chime in okay?

    Jim Please come back. I’ll give you my left and right testicles.

    How’s that?

    Nuts.

    That’s nutty.

  12. January 2, 2010 11:11 am

    At least I don’t have to read all 70 messages he posted everyday.

  13. January 2, 2010 11:36 am

    I though Dr. Cargill headed that affiliation up?

  14. January 2, 2010 11:56 am

    I have blogged about my sense of what happened.

  15. Wendy permalink
    January 2, 2010 1:54 pm

    I always thought he was just a jerk. If he had been more respectful to people, he would have been less popular, though. People flock to bullies.

  16. January 2, 2010 4:29 pm

    Jim who? … I forgot him already.

  17. emc permalink
    January 3, 2010 5:07 am

    He does this periodically. He did it for his first blog, “Biblical Theology,” back in 2005. Within a couple of weeks he was back under a different title. It’s just to attract attention.

Trackbacks

  1. Where in the world is Jim West | The Church of Jesus Christ
  2. Has Jim West ceased blogging? « Stalin's Moustache
  3. Farewell, Jim West! | lingamish
  4. Dr Jim West, blogging no more? « Biblical Paths
  5. NEW LEAVEN
  6. The Young and the Westless « Ketuvim: the Writings of James R. Getz Jr.
  7. Herod’s curse: Jim West the latest victim | lingamish
  8. where’s jim west? | “shields-up”

Leave a Reply

