Skip to content

Does Higher Criticism Attempt to “Destroy the Bible”? Addendum A

May 19, 2010

I’m still planning on a couple of more posts in this series to finish it up. Perhaps, judging on some of the comments, a few thoughts on the effects of biblical scholarship might be in order as well.

I thought I would offer a short addendum displaying the sort of attitude I believe is prevalent in more fundamental evangelical churches. I could be wrong, but it seems to me I run into this sort of attitude very often.

In the videos, Chuck assures his audience that the Documentary Hypothesis (DH) comes from “subversive” scholars and has been “shredded” and, of course, they need not bother reading any of the extremely “boring” books on the DH, they can rather take his word that it has been “shredded.” Or they can believe Jesus.

It seems I keep hearing “thinkers” all across the ideological spectrum who are encouraging people not to think! Whatever you do: do not look at the evidence!

I think I’m going to record Missler’s “argument” to a transcript and submit it to a bunch of academic journals under the name Dr. Chris Tilling. Should be fun.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris E permalink
    May 19, 2010 9:52 am

    and we know Chuck Missler as Peanut Butter man .. :

  2. Ryan permalink
    May 19, 2010 10:12 am

    Missler received his “Phd” from unabashedly non-accredited Louisiana Baptist University. The LBU website lists him as an ‘outstanding alumni’ alongside other noteworthy individuals like creationist Carl Baugh, founder of Creations Evidence Museum, and Bob Cornuke, self-proclaimed “biblical archaeologist”. While LBU isn’t some trailer on a hill in Colorado, the quality of ‘education’ received probably isn’t much better.

  3. May 19, 2010 1:59 pm

    Chris E, I borrowed your previous link to the AiG unicorn article for a blog post. This link might be even better, better as in, “It is more painful,” better… I didn’t know about the Peanut Butter man.

  4. May 19, 2010 9:08 pm

    Aaah, Chris E, I was trying to place him and didn’t!

    O Peanut Butter man, may my tongue cleave deliciously to the roof of my mouth if I ever forget you! May my right hand forget where I put the table knife!

  5. EricW permalink
    May 20, 2010 7:17 am

    Blooming.Idiot.

    Add “Evil” to that, because he apparently believes in multiplying his idiocy by indoctrinating others into his way of reasoning and thinking, as evidenced by the clips – including the “Peanut Butter” clip, which left me speechless.

    *facepalm*

  6. May 20, 2010 7:24 am

    I’m getting better! I didn’t swear before I stopped listening to this @$#% crap.

    oh darn.

    Well, I was getting better……

    BTW how does he explain peanut butter demons, you know the pesky imps responsible for getting that stuff stuck to the roof of your mouth?

  7. Headless Unicorn Guy permalink
    May 20, 2010 10:39 am

    Chuck assures his audience that the Documentary Hypothesis (DH) comes from “subversive” scholars and has been “shredded” and, of course, they need not bother reading any of the extremely “boring” books on the DH, they can rather take his word that it has been “shredded.” Or they can believe Jesus.

    AKA “Ees Party Line, Comrades.”

Trackbacks

  1. Flotsam and jetsam (5/20) « scientia et sapientia

Leave a Reply

