Skip to content

Blog Interrupted by Life

May 26, 2010

Things may be a little slow here in the next couple of weeks. Or not… I often procrastinate well with blog posts.🙂

First, I am moving. Very hard to post while changing internet, moving computers, etc.

Second, on this Thursday they* are cutting my sister’s brain in half. This is something that has been coming for a long time and has (obviously) required a lot of planning and doctor’s visits. Not sure what the first few days/weeks will look like on the other side of this surgery.

Third, I still work for a Canada Research Chair.

Fourth, I am researching and writing a thesis!

So, I may be back Friday, or I might not be back until June… but I’ll be back.

Be well my friends.

* “they” being doctors who are supposedly trained and skilled in this sort of thing. Just to be safe, I’m also sacrificing virgin chickens at midnight for success just in case “they” are not quite as skilled as “they” propose. Can’t hurt, can it?
7 Comments leave one →
  1. EricW permalink
    May 26, 2010 7:19 am

    Second, on this Thursday they* are cutting my sister’s brain in half.

    Can you elaborate a bit for those of us who have no idea what this might be the proposed cure for?

  2. Jon H permalink
    May 26, 2010 2:03 pm

    Epilepsy?

  3. May 26, 2010 11:47 pm

    Eric –> Jon,

    Yep, apparently, her petit mal activity (which has caused most of her physical damage) starts in one hemisphere and hurricanes for one to the other until she has an ‘episode’ and falls and hurts herself (so badly, and so often, I would have to start a new blog to catalog her injuries). Couple that with the fact that she has been taking such high dosages of drugs that if they can’t lower them they will start to kill her and this is a very necessary surgery.

  4. Jon H permalink
    May 27, 2010 7:30 am

    Yikes. I hope it goes without a hitch. Brains are funny things though, and can be pretty resilient if they are altered carefully.

    I work with a bunch of neuroscientists, and there’s a Nobel Prize winner down the hall, but they’re more into working with monkeys and mice.

  5. Jon H permalink
    May 27, 2010 7:37 am

    Is she going to be awake during the procedure?

  6. May 28, 2010 2:50 pm

    I can offer my charismaticiest prayers on your sister’s behalf. That and chickens can’t hurt.

  7. May 28, 2010 7:15 pm

    Grace and peace to you and your sis during these stressful times bro!

Leave a Reply

