Skip to content

The Importance of Empathy (via The Golden Rule)

June 12, 2010

A thoughtful post from Mike well worth reading. Me and Mike did our undergrads together… so I guess it’s true about that iron sharpening iron thing. Though I think he made my grades look better!

Well said Mike!😉

The very possibility of historical scholarship as an enterprise distinct from propaganda requires of its practicioners that vital minimum of ascetic self-discipline that enables a person to do such things as abandon wishful thinking, assimilate bad news, discard pleasing interpretations that cannot pass elementary tests of evidence and logic, and, most important of all, suspend or bracket one's own perceptions long enough to enter sympathetically … Read More

via The Golden Rule

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2010 12:55 pm

    Thanks Scott, though I think you have told the grades joke before, although we both know it was the other way around lol On the upside, I am sure my little blog makes your blog stats look way better

    • June 12, 2010 2:03 pm

      And I’ll tell it again if I get the chance! Who said I was joking?

Trackbacks

  1. The role of empathy in theological studies « scientia et sapientia

Leave a Reply

