Skip to content

Another Terrible Christian Kids TV Show: Psalty

September 16, 2010

Yeah, this video has been edited some, but you’ll get the idea. The idea that you have never wanted to beat a group of children and their director within an inch of their life so badly before.

(via)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2010 11:40 am

    When I was younger my Mum used to dress up as Psalty and do kids clubs.
    I still have nightmares.

    • Jake permalink
      September 16, 2010 2:49 pm

      Best. Comment. Evar.

  2. Headless Unicorn Guy permalink
    September 16, 2010 12:20 pm

    I’ve heard of Psalty. He was some sort of big name in Christian Children’s Media 30-odd years ago. Sort of the Veggie Tales of his time. Or Bibleman, take your pick.

    Or maybe more like the Star Wars Holiday Special?

  3. Jon H permalink
    September 16, 2010 7:48 pm

    “Turn me to page 24”?!

    Whoops, my big bookmark fell out, wouldja look at that!

  4. meinmysmallcorner permalink
    September 17, 2010 12:44 pm

    Now Scott, you know I think you’re v funny… However I feel it necessary to reprimand you on this occasion… You’re bashing Psalty??? The great big blu-ue singing songbook??? This guy was a childhood staple of mine – my friends and I have many-a reminiscing session about this guy. Legend. Being Irish (as in actually born in, live in Ireland-Irish) and therefore not the target audience for such high-energy-sticky-sweet-Jesus-ness, that is high praise for the old guy!

    Although admittedly its a little easier to swallow on cassette tape than causing your eyes to bleed watching him…😉

  5. Mink permalink
    October 4, 2010 4:38 pm

    … My gods. Psalty was huge in my Lutheran grade school. Schlocky (and not in an OMMMMINOUS HUMMMMM kind of way) and kitschy, but putting on a play (which was required for each grade) often involved one of the Big Blue Songbook’s plays.

    Heh. It was pretty weird, looking back on it, but fairly harmless. Not that I have great memories of that grade school, but this at least is a moderately good memory.

Leave a Reply

