Skip to content

The Worst Worship Ever For That Dude Jesus

September 16, 2010

(via)

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott F permalink
    September 16, 2010 12:18 pm

    I have never seen a gospel cymbalist! My church so needs a praise band.

  2. Headless Unicorn Guy permalink
    September 16, 2010 12:28 pm

    Setting up for “World’s Wildest Pentecostal Videos”, agathos?

    Actually, this reminded me more of something you’d see at a small Black Pentecostal Church in rural Mississippi (the classic Holy Rollers); it was weird to see white faces and what looked like a suburban church background going with that soundtrack.

    The cymbals and the amateur “God Anointed Me To Sing” voice were what made it. That and the guy to one side as the camera zooms out doing a speeded-up jerky version of the Jake Walk Blues…

    This is classic Holy Roller stuff, a piece of Americana.

  3. MikeK permalink
    September 16, 2010 2:11 pm

    OK: I have a paper to finish, and this kind of distraction is more than a distraction…rivaling the world-famous Rick Pino…

  4. Scatcatpdx permalink
    September 16, 2010 2:14 pm

    Needs some Cowbell

  5. Jake permalink
    September 16, 2010 3:04 pm

    Some thoughts:

    This could be the worst thing ever.

    This could be the greatest thing ever.

    Janice Joplin would think that chick is crazy.

    If Meg White ever leaves The White Stripes, Jack could replace her with this drummer and no one would ever notice.

    The bass player has actually been in a coma for 2 years.

    The church is all white. I never would have guessed if I only heard the audio.

    I’m not certain that cymbal girl wouldn’t absolutely destroy the competition in Amuricah’s Got Talent.

    This band should go on tour with “The Breakfast Song” couple. I’d pay to see that.

    That 7 minute experience left me with more confused feelings than the time Brian Wilkins and I had to practice mouth to mouth resuscitation on each other at the all boys lifeguard summer camp.

    Jake out…

    • Headless Unicorn Guy permalink
      September 17, 2010 9:04 am

      The church is all white. I never would have guessed if I only heard the audio.

      My guess is this was filmed somewhere deep in the Former Confederate States.

      I’m not certain that cymbal girl wouldn’t absolutely destroy the competition in Amuricah’s Got Talent.

      No, not Amuricah’s Got Talent.

      Remember a little something called The Gong Show?

  6. September 16, 2010 4:08 pm

    I come here for the videos, but this one didn’t freak me out as much as the majority of them do. Like Rick Pino. (shudders)

    Like the Headless Unicorn Guy, this seems like something you would see in a History Channel documentary about Deep South worship; it’s just a piece of Americana with some good ol’ Cajun gospel. I really would like to know where this was filmed.

    However, I did have two naughty thoughts as I was watching it ….

    1) Janis Joplin got religion!

    2) When did Meatloaf start crossdressing?

    • Headless Unicorn Guy permalink
      September 17, 2010 9:04 am

      Meatloaf or Divine?

  7. Jake permalink
    September 16, 2010 5:13 pm

    I want a battle royale between “Janice of the Cymbal” and this guy…

    • Headless Unicorn Guy permalink
      September 17, 2010 9:06 am

      Anybody got video of Dr Gene Scott and his FCC Windup Monkey Band?

      “NOW GIT ON THOSE TELEPHONES!”

  8. Jon H permalink
    September 16, 2010 7:45 pm

    Not really for me, but didn’t really strike me as Rick Pino-class. There’s a wee touch of Janis Joplin, there. I suspect she could do a kick-ass rendition of Joplin’s “Mercedes Benz”

  9. EricW permalink
    September 16, 2010 9:36 pm

    I suspect that agathos needs some Holy Ghost Fire.

    • Headless Unicorn Guy permalink
      September 17, 2010 2:51 pm

      Not a Holy Ghost Enema?

  10. Helgi permalink
    September 17, 2010 6:58 am

    I actually kind of liked the song, too bad the sound isn’t better😀

    I think they were actually “keeping it real,” being true to themselves, which I think is good for a church. I doubt they preach good doctrine (as the long hair suggests a strict external holiness message, which of course does not cover gluttony) and I wouldn’t go to such a church my self, but keeping it real is something I do appreciate. I wish more of the historical churches kept it real.

    but now the refrain “I’ve got it, I’ve got it” is going to be on repeat in my head

Leave a Reply

