Skip to content

Worst Cover Ever

December 4, 2010

This is for all my musical friends that visit Scotteriology. I’m not sure it can get much worse than this. The singing… the guitar… the drumming… the bass player.

It’s a good thing there is a giant sign that reads “music” in the background, or else one might get confused!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Jake permalink
    December 5, 2010 12:56 am

    I like how the “vocalist” does his own echo effects. That’s a level of professionalism you just don’t find anymore.

    HELLO… HEllo… hello…

  2. Jake permalink
    December 5, 2010 1:02 am

    And I’ll see your “Comfortably Numb” and raise you one “Final Countdown”.

    • December 5, 2010 9:24 am

      You sir had added evil to evil. Damn you clickety part of video that enticed me so. My sanity! My sanity!

      I now have sensible Swedish accent!

      Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!

    • Jake permalink
      December 5, 2010 12:47 pm

      The best part is right at the very beginning when that little kid is running away. Smart kid.

    • Colls Bolls permalink
      December 5, 2010 4:13 pm

      Oh my goodness, that is the most shocking thing I think I’ve ever heard. What is with posting these things on YouTube

    • December 6, 2010 8:02 am

      I think the obvious question here is, “Why would anyone want to cover Europe?”

      Even if they do it badly…

      And I can only assume–as hard as it is to imagine–the singer is doing his own backing vocals because the rest of the group sounds even worse than he does?

      BTW, I think my 5 year old has that same keyboard. It cost us about $15.

  3. December 5, 2010 9:21 am

    Hah! You sir did not entice me to launch that video. (Someone unfortunately beat you to it, oh my sanity!)

  4. Colls Bolls permalink
    December 5, 2010 4:10 pm

    .57 seconds was more than enough for me. Loving the dagger looks that the singer is giving to the base player! Somebody take control, people!

  5. Colls Bolls permalink
    December 5, 2010 4:17 pm

    Aaaah, I went back for more and it gets worse!
    Sorry that I said the singer is looking daggers at the base (bass) player, he was staring at a guitarist. Perhaps he’s just trying to avoid looking out the crowd leaving

  6. December 6, 2010 8:26 am

    The fact that I could only get about a minute into the PF cover, but made it all the way through Jake’s Europe cover speaks volumes about which of the two is worse…

    Or maybe about me as a person.

    Anyway, PF guy was at a disadvantage, having obviously very recently consumed vast quantities of controlled substances. The scene immediately before they took stage probably played out like a twisted version of that old Life cereal commercial:

    “Let’s get Rick and his friends up there to do that awful Pink Floyd cover they do, you know, the one where Rick thinks he sounds just like Roger Waters. They’re so stoned, they’ll do anything.

    “Hey, Rick! Rick! Dude, you gotta get the guys up on that stage and do ‘Comfortably Numb.’ No, man, you have. Got. To. That friggin’ ROCKS! Don’t worry, we’ll hold the bong for you.

    “No, way, he’s gonna do it! Dude, go get the video camera! Hurry! This is gonna be AWESOME!”

    • Colls Bolls permalink
      December 6, 2010 3:32 pm

      That is hilarious

  7. December 6, 2010 8:47 am

    As an avid Pink Floyd fan, I nearly puked my semi-digested breakfast on my keyboard. I almost ruined my computer. Where was the puke-alert?

    I didn’t think it was possible for someone’s voice to sound worse than Roger Waters, but I guess I was wrong.

    • December 6, 2010 9:14 am

      Dude, that is just wrong. Those two sentiments don’t even belong together in the same comment. Waters is a douche, to be sure, but the songs were written for him to be straining to hit the right notes, recorded with him barely making it. All the covers I’ve heard–even Gilmour on solo tour and PF post-Waters–just don’t sound right without him.

    • December 6, 2010 9:27 am

      No, you misunderstand me. I think Waters’ voice is perfect on the track. When I said that his voice sounds terrible, I never intended to imply that it detracts from the music. It *makes* the music. Waters sounds horrible from a technical point of view, but in the overall context of the song, singing with perfect pitch would’ve ruined it. Good musicians can bend and break the rules and pull it off. Believe me, when I said his voice is horrible, I meant that in the best possible way.

      Waters does “bad” extremely well. The problem we have here, is the crackpot in the video does “bad” poorly.

      • December 6, 2010 11:42 am

        ‘K. Thanks so much for clearing that up.

        Of course, “poorly” is probably offended by that…

Leave a Reply

