Skip to content

Parody Fail

December 20, 2010

I’m thinking there should be a least a five to ten year ban on Christians taking any secular songs and trying to ‘redeem’ them. As far as I can tell, they always fail…

Jesus from Cameo’s Word Up

Sample Lyric: Yo got a name heard around the world, and it’s not just for the Christians it’s for all the boys and girls… Come on people now tell me who’s the word? Uh, Jesus…

Holy Ladies from Beyonce’s Single Ladies

Sample lyric: Then he told me to ask if I could stay with a friend, but I’m really gonna be with him, but I said, if you want me you gotta put a ring on it…. No,o-o-o, no o-o-o, no, no.

Another Snake on the Crawl from Pink Floyd’s Another Brick in the Wall

Sample lyric: Satan, leave our thoughts alone, all in all you’re just another snake on the crawl.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2010 12:26 pm

    I know for a fact you have at least 3 Christian parodies that are better.

  2. Headless Unicorn Guy permalink
    December 21, 2010 8:34 am

    Are you sure these filk attempts were parodies?

    Or dead serious “Just like Beyonce/Pink Floyd/Whatever, Except CHRISTIAN(TM)!” knockoffs?

  3. frcraig permalink
    December 21, 2010 8:58 am

    http://www.musicademy.com/2010/12/worship-gaffe-2-christmas-carol-nightmare/

    knowing how much you appreciate good music, thought I’d pass this one on… have ear plugs ready!

    • December 21, 2010 11:42 am

      frcraig, that is my favorite Christmas carol ever! I have it on my iPod always ready to go😉

    • Headless Unicorn Guy permalink
      December 21, 2010 4:39 pm

      “O Holy Night” as sung by a Vegas Lounge Lizard…

  4. Headless Unicorn Guy permalink
    December 21, 2010 4:40 pm

    I’m thinking there should be a least a five to ten year ban on Christians taking any secular songs and trying to ‘redeem’ them.

    “Redeem” them?

    Why can’t they be honest and admit they’re FILKING them?

Leave a Reply

