Skip to content

The C. S. Lewis Bible

January 12, 2011

Apparently the number one selling book of all-time needs a new marketing hook, so HarperCollins has published a version of the Bible containing select passages of Lewis’ work.

The C.S. Lewis Bible pairs thought-provoking meditations from C.S. Lewis’s spiritual writings with corresponding passages from the authoritative NRSV Bible. This one-of-a-kind Bible for devotional reading, reflection, and inspiration is perfect for readers of Lewis’s Mere Christianity, The Screwtape Letters, or his other works of seminal Christian writing. Fans of Lewis’s widely-beloved allegorical fantasy series, the Chronicles of Narnia, will love this chance to engage with the author’s more deeply spiritual side after reading favorites like The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe and The Voyage of the Dawn Treader.

Beloved author C. S. Lewis is one of the world’s most influential Christian thinkers and a trusted companion for millions of readers. The C. S. Lewis Bible draws upon the distinctive wisdom of Lewis’s celebrated spiritual classics—Mere Christianity, The Screwtape Letters, The Great Divorce, The Problem of Pain, Miracles, and A Grief Observed—as well as his other distinguished works, and pairs them alongside the life-giving words of Scripture.

As you engage in devotional Bible reading with the full text of the trusted NRSV Bible, you will also gain insight from Lewis’s writings and spiritual journey while exploring key issues in the life of faith. Each reading will draw you deeper into Scripture as you wrestle with and meditate on spiritual truths woven throughout the text. The C. S. Lewis Bible is an indispensable companion for everyone who cherishes Lewis’s timeless words and seeks to meditate on the truths of Scripture.

I wonder what Lewis would think of this?

That is what always happens when you go away from the words of the Bible. It is quite right to go away from them for a moment in order to make some special point clear. But you must always go back. Naturally God knows how to describe Himself much better than we know how to describe Him. ~ Mere Christianity

There is a certain sense in which ‘the Bible as literature’ does not exist. It is a collection of books so widely different in period, kind, language, and aesthetic value, that no common criticism can be passed on them. ~ The Literary Impact of the Authorised Version

(via)

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 3:45 pm

    I wonder if they’ll include the bit in The Problem of Pain where he tries to explain the first couple of chapters in Genesis? You know, where it’s abundantly clear that he thinks evolution is how God did it.

  2. Tom K. permalink
    September 17, 2012 1:05 pm

    It seems to me, going away from the words of the Bible and then back again is exactly what this Bible is doing. Not that I would buy it, but I do like Lewis.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: