Skip to content

Street Evangelism: The Patronizing Curved Illusions

March 31, 2011

Let me summarize: these papers are different sizes. Have you ever told a white lie? Believe in Jesus!

I grabbed this from Unreasonable Faith where one of the commenters wrote, “My pet peeve is that these idiots are still doing this same let-me-ask-you-a-question-have-you-ever-told-a-white-lie-have-you-ever-stolen-a-paper-clip schtick like they’ve just produced the trump card that defeats all arguments. It’s an insulting, patronizing and silly argument that minimizes so-called sin, if anything.”

Are you ready for your not-surprise of the day? This video is from Way of the Master… I wish I had more time to deconstruct Ray Comfort and his many silly and outright false apologetics, but I won’t lose too much sleep over it as he has been destroyed in such analyses so many times it might be redundant at this point.

If you are unfamiliar with the sort of ‘arguments’ that Ray thinks are intelligent, you can see an old Scotteriology classic, Creationist Rejoice: The Peanut Butter and Banana Men

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Headless Unicorn Guy permalink
    March 31, 2011 8:31 am

    Ray Comfort of “Unintentional Slashfic Setup” banana fame…

  2. EricW permalink
    April 1, 2011 9:41 pm

    Ray Comfort: Have you ever told a lie?
    Victim: Yes.
    Ray Comfort: What does that make you?
    Victim: I don’t know.
    Ray Comfort: It makes you a liar. Agreed?
    Victim: Okay, well, I guess so.

    Victim: I’ve done a good thing. In fact, I’ve done more good things than I’ve told lies.
    Ray Comfort: So?
    Victim: Well, then, that makes me a righteous person.
    Ray Comfort: No it doesn’t.
    Victim: If telling a lie makes me a “liar,” then doing a good thing makes me “righteous,” and doing lots of good things makes me “very righteous.”
    Ray Comfort: No, it doesn’t work that way.
    Victim: I’m just using your own logic on you.
    Ray Comfort: No, you’re not.
    Victim: Explain to me why and how I’m not?
    Ray Comfort: %#$&*!@

    • EricW permalink
      April 1, 2011 9:43 pm

      Sorry. That should be a period and not a question mark at the end of Victim’s last statement.

  3. Dave permalink
    April 3, 2011 1:00 am

    I love the looks on their faces as they slowly realize this isn’t some David Blaine type act, but a religious nutbar trying to mindf–k them ‘into the Kingdom.’

Trackbacks

  1. A PJ Investigation: The Church of Scotteriology | Political Jesus

Leave a Reply

