Skip to content

The Mountain and The Milky Way

April 16, 2011

Watch this video full screen; it is beautiful and amazing.

Filmed from Pico del Teide, Spain´s highest mountain, it is footage of our galaxy. Incredible.

We live in a galaxy with hundreds of billions of stars; and in a universe with hundreds of billions, if not trillions, of other galaxies that each have hundreds of billions, if not trillions, of stars. The scope is beyond comprehension…

Just in case you’ve stumbled on this blog by mistake and believe in fairies, Santa Claus, magic, anything Deepak Chopra says, pots of gold at the end of rainbows, the Secret, metaphysical ‘Laws’ and ‘Principles’ of the universe, or unicorns: while unbelievably amazing, the universe is not sentient, and if it were it would not give a single [expletive deleted] about you.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2011 1:27 pm

    Amazing. Thanks for sharing.

  2. April 17, 2011 7:16 pm

    Yes, thank you for sharing this. Very beautiful and very humbling.

    Whenever I see something that inspires awe from the natural world, I try to remember the context in which I exist: namely, I have enough to eat, I have a life partner, a home, safety, a job and hope for the future. It is because I have all these things that I can enjoy the immensity and scenery of nature.

    Conversely, if I am a child starving in Africa, a woman raped by enemy soldiers, or a drug addict, I would think this movie would leave me untouched… since the perils I face overshadow everything else. The grandeur of the universe would not awe me, but further destroy me.

    Still, self awareness about the scope of the universe can be a profound teaching if one accepts it for what it is.

    -Sheldrake

    • Jake permalink
      April 17, 2011 10:18 pm

      Your comment smacks not only of ignorance but arrogance in the extreme. To say that a deprived person, a broken person or a victimized might have more base concerns on his or her mind (from Maslowian perspective anyways) could be considered appropriate, albeit completely irrelevant and slightly nonsensical given the context. However, to make the automatic assumption that a less fortunate human being is somehow less capable of of broader awareness and appreciation of their surroundings due to circumstance is appalling. The fact that this is (according to your post) the context in which you frame these types of experiences speaks loudly to a severe shortcoming in your empathic capacity and brings to mind Luke 18:9-14. Maybe it’s time for some new context…

      • April 18, 2011 1:36 pm

        Jake,
        Not sure why you have such a strong response to my comment. Maybe I could have worded it better (or more neutrally) so I’ll have to self-edit a little more in the future. My point is that my own feelings towards the movie, and the grandeur of nature in general, is shaped by my personal context – the current circumstances of my life. I currently live in healthy and productive circumstances although I can imagine being in the shoes of someone else who is less fortunate. (to put it more mildly compared to the examples I gave above) Right now, my life is relatively care free and I can enjoy the movie from the safety and comfort of my 21st century lifestyle – but if I found myself in much more dire circumstances, I might not feel the same and instead I might focus on the aspect that agathos noted about the universe: “it would not give a single [expletive deleted] about you.”

        I think it is a pretty safe thing to say that our perception of the universe is colored by our current circumstances. That’s really all I meant to have said. Sorry if I came off too strongly.

        Interesting that my initial remark noted that the movie had a humbling effect on me… only to be accused of arrogance🙂 Guess I need to pay more attention!

        -Sheldrake

  3. Graeme Semple permalink
    April 18, 2011 4:55 am

    Creation is indeed a wonderful thing.

  4. Headless Unicorn Guy permalink
    April 18, 2011 10:38 am

    …while unbelievably amazing, the universe is not sentient, and if it were it would not give a single [expletive deleted] about you.

    Somebody tell that to all those Captain Planet fanboys in the Sacramento Legislature.

    “Whether you believe it or not, the Universe is laughing behind your back.”
    — National Lampoon’s Deteriorata

Leave a Reply

