Skip to content

God Comes Out In Favor Of Marriage Equality

August 22, 2011

Yesterday in Madrid, Pope Benedict tried to give a speech to approximately 1.5 million people at Spain’s World Youth Day.

In the address he said

“The Lord calls many people to marriage, in which a man and a woman, in becoming one flesh, find fulfilment in a profound life of communion,” he told the young pilgrims.

“For this reason, to acknowledge the beauty and goodness of marriage is to realize that only a setting of fidelity and indissolubility, along with an openness to God’s gift of live, is adequate to the grandeur and dignity of marital love.”

However, apparently God disagrees with emperor Palpatine.

The 84-year-old head of the Roman Catholic Church had to cut short the speech, when powerful winds and sheets of rain struck at a vast air base, whipping off his skullcap, shaking the stage and knocking over at least one tent.

What more do you need? Clearly, this is powerful proof–signs and wonders!–that God is for marriage equality, and He sent the storm to show the Pope and his followers to stop spouting such anti-gay marriage rhetoric!

If, at one time, a hurricane or birds falling from the sky were signs and proofs of God’s anger against gay-marriage, the surely this is adequate proof that He has changed his mind and is now for the practice.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2011 11:41 am

    This is always one of those topics that I try to avoid discussing with other church leaders, because most of my fellow ministers disagree with my stance. I am fully supportive of marriage equality, and I’m thrilled to see you writing about the topic in such a light-hearted way. Seems to me as though God spoke pretty clearly in this instance! Thanks for sharing and making me smile.

    • dan permalink
      August 22, 2011 12:30 pm

      How do you know that the “sign” isn’t being interpreted incorrectly? To me its a sign that we should fight against homosexuality and gay marriage. It was a strong wind given to emphasize a militaristic approach to our campaign against gay marriage.

      • Jon Hendry permalink
        August 22, 2011 2:32 pm

        I suspect it had more to do with spanking Palpatine for his conduct in regards to the many molestation scandals.

        I like to think that in addition to the storm the signs also included slapping Palpatine with a nasty case of piles, though I guess we’ll never know.

      • August 22, 2011 5:34 pm

        How do I know that the “sign” is being interpreted incorrectly? I am a prophet with an extremely heavy anointing, don’t ya know?

  2. dan permalink
    August 23, 2011 9:32 pm

    While I do condemn the majority of the Roman Catholic system. I do not dare claim in anyway that any member of the church is either elect or reprobate. Which is one of the things that is wrong with the Roman Catholic system. Now i do understand what your saying about Ratzinger, and as i said if he were truly a reformer I would be thrilled. While he has defended, in a way, protestants as not being heretics. He hasn’t at all renounced any catholic heresy or blasphemy which is the bigger problem. And it is blasphemy to declare upon the salvation of another. Even in a disciplinary case that ends in excommunication we don’t dare declare that it has any salvific significance, yet the Roman Catholics do. Ratzinger for all his good stands as the figurehead of an organization that has given itself over from time to time as antichrist. I read your blog to help understand your position and I don’t intend to discount your views of which i agree with in some of what I read. As well my original comment was merely to emphasize the absurdity of claiming a spiritual interpretation form a natural phenomenon. I am in no way a pentababbler. However I am a cynic.

Leave a Reply

