Skip to content

Todd Bentley Can Smell Cancer?!?

March 17, 2012

Here is Lisa Ling from the show Our America interviewing Todd “The Fraud” Bentley. During the interview Bentley claims that he can “smell cancer sometimes.” And that when he does, it smells like sulfur (like from lighting a match) and rotten eggs.

I’m guessing that Ling really needed to light a match during this interview due to all the bullshit spewing from Todd’s mouth. Talk about explosive diarrhea!

via Jesus Needs New PR

Ling: What about doctors? Do you negate the purpose of doctors?

Bentley: Absolutely not. Medical doctors are gifted. I believe they are gifted by heaven. I believe it’s a blessing; the medical system. And at the same time it is our curse, because we can over-rely on something where we can’t have faith that God can heal. I do go to the doctor. I do get physicals. I think it’s important to know what’s going on, and if I do need to really approach God for healing. I’m much better if I know what it is that is really going on, on the inside of me.

Medical doctors are gifted. I believe they are gifted by heaven.”

Medical doctors are a ‘gift’ from heaven? If medical doctors were a gift from heaven why didn’t God send them a lot earlier?

In this place I like to call reality: Medical doctors are a gift of the Enlightenment, and our progress in scientific thinking and technology since. Nothing more.

I believe it’s a blessing; the medical system. And at the same time it is our curse, because we can over-rely on something where we can’t have faith that God can heal.”

There is so much to be said about this; I could actually deconstruct this for awhile. I mean, the ignorance, the socialization, the complete lack of understanding natural phenomena, cause and effect, are actually quite interesting. The fact that Bentley uses those to his advantage to scam ignorant people out of their money is what makes him an evil scamvangelist. However, I will make one point.

The medical system is a curse? Because we rely on it too much?

It requires real ignorance to maintain this belief. Try taking a look at the average life spans in 400 BCE or 800 CE when people only had ‘faith’ to make them better. Compare that information to now when we “over-rely” on medicine. I think you’ll find that “over-relying” on medicine has a hell of a better track record than those scores of people who had to rely on faith as their medicine.

I think it’s important to know what’s going on, and if I do need to really approach God for healing. I’m much better if I know what it is that is really going on, on the inside of me.”

Seems a tad inconsistent doesn’t it? I’m going to approach the all-powerful, all-knowing being to do magic, but the magic only works if I know the place to direct the incantation?

*sigh*…

Usually, even after all the idiocy at Lakeland, there are those who will still defend their wizard: “But. But. Todd said that a miracle happened! Todd said he can smell cancer! Todd said…”

We’ve been down this path enough times. I think most people know where I stand, so I’ll just repost a comment from MPT’s site, and let that stand for now about the amazing ‘proof’ that Bentley produces for his outlandish claims:

When asked to present evidence of the healings, Bentley promised to give “Nightline” the names and medical records of three followers who would talk openly about his miracles. He never delivered. Instead, his staff gave “Nightline” a binder filled with what he says are inspiring miracles, but with scant hard evidence. It offered incomplete contact information, a few pages of incomplete medical records, and the doctors’ names were crossed out…Not a single claim of Bentley’s healing powers could be independently verified. – http://abcnews.go.com/Nightline/FaithMatters/story?id=5338963&page=1#.T2Kj8r8SGTt

Compelling stuff. I think I’ll stick with medicine.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Headless Unicorn Guy permalink
    March 18, 2012 1:02 pm

    I know there are dogs who are trained to sniff out skin cancer.

    Does this mean Tatted Todd is a dog? Woof Woof…

  2. Headless Unicorn Guy permalink
    March 18, 2012 1:03 pm

    Usually, even after all the idiocy at Lakeland, there are those who will still defend their wizard: “But. But. Todd said that a miracle happened! Todd said he can smell cancer! Todd said…”

    Todd is God?

  3. thomas permalink
    March 19, 2012 4:50 am

    dang canadians =)

  4. thomas permalink
    March 19, 2012 5:38 pm

    it’s priceless watching lisa ling’s reaction to his comments. i can only imagine how many times she thought, ‘wtf?’

  5. 4xi0m permalink
    March 20, 2012 6:38 am

    “Medical doctors are gifted. I believe they are gifted by heaven.”

    If that’s the case, you’d think heaven would subsidize malpractice insurance. It’s getting to the point where staying in academia is less of a hassle.

    I’m sure Todd must have some sense of poetic justice, so it’s probably possible to mess with him by telling him he smells like sulfur. Maybe Hugo Chavez could do it…

Trackbacks

  1. Todd Bentley Can Smell Cancer?!? « | Automotive Performance Repair and Servicing

Leave a Reply

