Skip to content

I Want Your Advice!

June 2, 2012

Apparently, thousands of you view this site every day, so I thought, perhaps, I would ask for your advice.

Is there any particular topic you would like to see me address? Biblical studies, philosophy, theology, or other…

Let me know!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2012 12:41 pm

    Aliens make contact with humanity. They are humanoid in appearance. Human-alien intercourse: biblical or unbiblical?

    • liza permalink
      June 2, 2012 4:38 pm

      uh….not sure what it says about you that you’re first suggestion is about an alien booty call. lol

      • June 6, 2012 11:49 am

        It says that I am a very silly person.

    • June 4, 2012 7:47 am

      Genesis 6:1-4?

  2. liza permalink
    June 2, 2012 4:38 pm

    “your”

  3. June 2, 2012 7:00 pm

    I’d like to know your favorite ten books in your theological library and why.

    • June 3, 2012 11:47 am

      This! perhaps you could do some book reviews? that would be great. Especially in theology & biblical studies ,because i would like to expand my library.

  4. Troy permalink
    June 3, 2012 11:32 am

    I’m interested in common Biblical misconceptions that you find amongst Christians (ie. people who are already familiar with the Bible). I realize that there is an infinite number of ways in which people can get things wrong, but I’m curious as to whether you see common mistakes happening again and again. I’m also interested in a primarily academic piece, rather than a satirical one🙂

    • June 4, 2012 7:48 am

      I do have some thoughts on this Troy. I’ll see when I can get around to it.

  5. June 3, 2012 1:58 pm

    Not me! By all means bring on the satire! I’d definitely like to see more takedowns of guys like Mark Driscoll, Benny Hinn and co.

  6. June 3, 2012 3:15 pm

    If you are a christian then you shoul dbe asking God what you should write about and in what manner. He knows who reads these pages and He knows their needs thus you should rely upon Him for your topics and content.

    if you are not a christian then you should stay away from biblical topics fo ryou do not grasp the teachings of the Bible and do not understand what the truth is or how to apply it.

    • June 3, 2012 6:10 pm

      I prayed to God and He told me I should write something on self-righteous and judgmental ‘Christians’, but then you miraculously showed up with this idiotic comment, and more succinctly showed what that is better than any post I could write. Well done, and thank you!

      Also, I reject Fideism in any form, especially since I am an academic, not a fundamentalist pseudo-theologian prettending like a small child that the Bible is “mine!”.

      Once again: begone!

      • Dr.Dee Tee permalink
        June 4, 2012 12:56 am

        Your insulting of and judging of others not only removes your credibility but your lack of integrity, your lack of character and shows that you have nothing to offer anyone.

        • June 4, 2012 7:41 am

          It’s a good thing that you have never judged anyone, except: all the time!

          Clearly, because I have rejected your self-righteous judgment (one person), it logically follows that I have nothing to offer ‘anyone’ (seven billion people of differing ideologies and context).

          Well played… er, I mean: begone!

          • June 4, 2012 3:00 pm

            Just for your information, there was nothing self-righteous about my original comment. it was advice in answer to a request. If you ignore it that is up to you BUT who knows people best? God does and it would be best if you looked to him for direction not a bunch of fallible human beings.

            Your comment merely serves to remind everyone that people want to do things their own way and not God’s and that is wrong.

        • 4xi0m permalink
          June 4, 2012 8:54 am

          Insulting and judging of others removes one’s credibility, but also removes one’s lack of integrity and lack of character? I should insult people more often; I can stand to lose a little credibility if it gets me some integrity and character.

          Now that I’ve gotten that out of my system…I’m kind of interested in the sharp contrast between Augustinian and Origenic theology, and how it got that way in less than 2 centuries. Do you have any thoughts on that, Scott?

          • June 6, 2012 6:13 pm

            typo- i should proof read better.

  7. WenatcheeTheHatchet permalink
    June 5, 2012 12:50 pm

    any update on the work on 1 Enoch and related topics? You were working on a paper at some point, right? I’ve been interested in the connection between intertestamental literature and NT literature.

  8. June 6, 2012 11:51 am

    I think all people should read about and discuss the Apostolic Fathers.

Leave a Reply

