Skip to content

Hate To Say I Told You So, But…

August 17, 2008

Clearly the mantle of prophet needs to be added to my list of spiritual gifts because, well… I told you so: first HERE, loudly HERE, once again HERE, especially HERE, and HERE. Openly mocked HERE, HERE, and HERE. Called to task those with an uncritical allegiance HERE, and HERE. Finally giving up and hoping that satire and humor might somehow get through to those that for whatever reason just could not seem to deal with the matter at hand in a critical manner HERE. My concern? Todd Bentley and The Lakeland ‘Outpouring’.

In response to the usual jargon from a Bentleyophile on May 28, 2008 I wrote:

My mind is not “closed” rather, having years of church experience, a degree in Religion and Theology with an emphasis on biblical studies, a minor in Greek and Hebrew, serving in a church community, having read and re-read the Bible, and most of all having LISTENED and WATCHED Bentley I find him not profitable for myself or my church community.

My attitude is not “bad”, my reaction is not “knee jerk”, and my mind is not “closed”.

Blind unthinking allegiance, however, I find very disturbing.

If you take the time to read through all of the posts and comments one thing becomes painfully obvious: clearly some sort of super cool title should be granted unto me soon; however, “prophet” (of humility) shall have to suffice in the meantime. Anyways…

So here we find ourselves post-Lakelandianity and a lot of people are now commenting about what was going on there and how Todd conducts himself; especially in light of the revelation that Bentley is involved with another woman that is not his wife. With the amount of deception that has poured forth from him recently I find it highly doubtful whether his admission to that relationship only being “emotional” is truthful. This is not the ‘enemy’ as Fresh Fire Ministries (FFM) is asserting breaking into Todd’s camp and attacking; it’s just the way sin works (the cosmic passing of the buck in the latest FFM letter show some of the serious theological assumptions that lead to problems for the movement – more later this week). When you operate in sin, unfaithfulness, and deception in your married life it’s going to take control of some other areas as well, it is not compartmentalized; as Paul says it becomes our master.

Some recent articles on Bentley and Lakeland:

  • Michael Spencer: A Note to Todd Bentley
  • John Piper: Test Revival With Doctrine
  • And in what must surely be a first and most likely NOT a regular occurrence at Scotteriology an actual link to Charisma Magazine. It must be bizarro backward universe day: Life After Lakeland: Sorting Out The Confusion
  • And using all of his usual gifts of tact, diplomacy, and understatement Dr. Jim West: Todd Bentley: Deluded False Teacher. Don’t mix words Jim tell us how you really feel! Anyways, Jim’s support and links throughout this discussion have been greatly appreciated
  • The Jesus Paradigm: We Have, And It’s On. Via: JSS
  • There are more; many more, though the amount of hypocrites within the charismatic movement now coming forward and expressing their “concerns” they have “always” had with Todd’s doctrine but did not want to question a “move of God” because of “signs and wonders” show just how easy it will be for the Anti-Christ to deceive many believers who have absolutely no concern for Scripture and discernment but love the “spiritual masturbation” of signs and wonders and nothing more

There really is about a million ways I could go with this from here. I could point at Todd’s lack of training, theological weaknesses (which are many), unverified healings (which are many), lies or elaborations (which are many), or fallen humanity (which we all have) as a way to discount his ministry. I won’t do that. I could ask questions like Grady who wrote the Charisma article (and he asks some very good questions from within his bubble). My questions are the same ones before, during, and after Lakeland. I’ve asked some of them before, and I’ll save the others for another day.

See the thing is, in some of my weaker moments, I sometimes want what was being reported about at Lakeland. God shows up and moves in ways that no one, and I mean NO ONE has any choice but to believe. One hundred percent epistemic certainty. Signs and wonders that leaves no one wondering. I understand that sort of hunger.

But I have these problems: I can’t stop reading Scripture and thinking it is valuable for the way we conduct ourselves as followers of Jesus together and in the world; I think the witness of brothers and sisters in Christ who came before us is very useful; I think the many things I have witnessed, profitable and hurtful to the body, are experiences that are beneficial; and all of these things taken together give me a litmus test and questions that I can’t help but apply to situations such as Lakeland and Bentley’s “ministry”.

Like Nate who wrote the Jesus Paradigm article I have no problem with Todd Bentley as a person. I mean he’s Canadian so he can’t be too bad away from the podium right? I wish him no ill will and earnestly hope that his marriage can be restored because Todd’s public failure is our public failure. Secular persons cannot discern the difference between pentecostal Christians or baptist Christians. We’re just Christians. So yeah, you should be praying for him and his marriage, and his conduct, and his theology, and his ministry, because a lot of people are getting exposed to “Christianity” by him. I know, I know… I wish it was someone else as well. I would way, way rather unsaved people meet Shaine Claiborne than Todd Bentley too.

But I don’t have a problem with Todd the person. However, I have massive problems with the church culture and horrible doctrine that created Bentleymania… and it turns out I was right. This is why way back in May I directed your attention to a quote by Philip Schaff commenting on the original Todd Bentley and the movement that grew up around his leadership called Montanism

It is the first example of an earnest and well-meaning, but gloomy and fanatical hyper-Christianity, which like all hyper-spiritualism, is apt to end in the flesh.

There is an incredibly, massive, large difference between spirituality and hyper-spirituality. Next time sane, sober minded, well trained men of God and theologians point out that difference: LISTEN! And I am NOT talking about myself here, but the many voices that said, “Something is wrong here,” and the usual garbage that was thrown in their faces to not question God, that they had no ‘authority’ to question Todd (because clearly the ones who did were doing an excellent job), to not question the man of God, or signs and wonders… sigh. It genuinely depresses me when people abandon Christianity for the heresy of Neo-Gnosticism and Neo-Montanism that was being offered up at Lakeland.

Finally, Todd is stepping back for a season for some restoration and this is good because there may have been nothing more pathetic and sad than Paula White getting separated last summer (which led to divorce) and the following week leading a conference for women called ‘Satisfied Woman’… my brain still near reaches stroke levels when I think about that. At least FFM is smarter and more humble than that, and I wish Todd all of the best and truly hope he can find some peace and healing in this time.

This part is for Todd: I have moved right down the road 15 minutes away from your office. If you’re looking for some mentoring and a little tutoring in biblical hermeneutics, exegesis, and theology during your break I would love to help you out after you are done working on the marriage… because not only am I good at these things clearly I’m a prophet!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2008 11:16 am

    Great post bro. If you see Todd tell him I’ll buy a copy of Noll’s Scandal of the Evangelical Mind for him.

  2. August 17, 2008 11:49 am

    My way of addressing this was much more stealth:
    What Is Revival?
    Probably too stealth but I’ve gotten a lot of visitors from Google looking for “revival”.

    I have many thoughts on this but I don’t want to pile on and I grew tired of this whole thing a long time ago.
    Jeff

  3. Jake permalink
    August 17, 2008 9:40 pm

    You’re a prophet? Can I send you money?

  4. Chris E permalink
    August 18, 2008 3:49 am

    The big problem with the Grady column is the conflation of the validity of the revival with Todd Bentley’s sin.

    It’s true that there could be connections between the two. However, the questions Grady asks were still questions even before Bentley sinned, and would have been questions worth asking even if he hadn’t sinned.

    TBH I’m not sure that the Charismatic church knows what discernment is anymore. There is a great post by Dan Edelen which points to some of the issues:

    http://ceruleansanctum.com/2008/08/cleansing-the-charismatic-crackup-part-1.html

  5. August 18, 2008 6:43 am

    Scott:

    God shows up and moves in ways that no one, and I mean NO ONE has any choice but to believe.

    Are you suggesting that God wasn’t already there? Mending the veil much? I think your theology needs a little retooling, pal.

    😀

  6. August 18, 2008 10:06 am

    That’s quite a post! Too bad that most things that come out about the “christian” leadership in this world is all the stuff they do wrong. I too pray for his marriage!

  7. August 18, 2008 1:45 pm

    Prophet of Humility

    Yes. Definitely.

  8. August 19, 2008 2:09 am

    Mark 9:1 AND JESUS said to them, Truly {and} solemnly I say to you, there are some standing here who will in no way taste death before they see the kingdom of God come in [its] power.

    Mark 9:7 And a cloud threw a shadow upon them, and a voice came out of the cloud, saying, This is My Son, the [most dearworthy] Beloved One. Be constantly listening to {and} obeying Him!
    Mark 9:8 And looking around, they suddenly no longer saw anyone with them except Jesus only.

    Mark 9:17 And one of the throng replied to Him, Teacher, I brought my son to You, for he has a dumb spirit.
    Mark 9:18 And wherever it lays hold of him [so as to make him its own], it dashes him down {and} convulses him, and he foams [at the mouth] and grinds his teeth, {and} he [falls into a motionless stupor and] is wasting away. And I asked Your disciples to drive it out, and they were not able [to do it].
    Mark 9:19 And He answered them, O unbelieving generation [without any faith]! How long shall I [have to do] with you? How long am I to bear with you? Bring him to Me.
    Mark 9:33 And they arrived at Capernaum; and when [they were] in the house, He asked them, What were you discussing {and} arguing about on the road?
    Mark 9:34 But they kept still, for on the road they had discussed {and} disputed with one another as to who was the greatest.
    Mark 9:35 And He sat down and called the Twelve [apostles], and He said to them, If anyone desires to be first, he must be last of all, and servant of all.
    Mark 9:36 And He took a little child and put him in the center of their group; and taking him in [His] arms, He said to them,
    Mark 9:37 Whoever in My name {and} for My sake accepts {and} receives {and} welcomes one such child also accepts {and} receives {and} welcomes Me; and whoever so receives Me receives not only Me but Him Who sent Me.
    Mark 9:38 John said to Him, Teacher, we saw a man who does not follow along with us driving out demons in Your name, and we forbade him to do it, because he is not one of our band [of Your disciples].
    Mark 9:39 But Jesus said, Do not restrain {or} hinder {or} forbid him; for no one who does a mighty work in My name will soon afterward be able to speak evil of Me.
    Mark 9:40 For he who is not against us is for us.
    Mark 9:41 For I tell you truly, whoever gives you a cup of water to drink because you belong to {and} bear the name of Christ will by no means fail to get his reward.
    Mark 9:42 And whoever causes one of these little ones (these believers) who acknowledge {and} cleave to Me to stumble {and} sin, it would be better (more profitable and wholesome) for him if a [huge] millstone were hung about his neck, and he were thrown into the sea.

    Mark 9:49 For everyone shall be salted with fire.

    Mark 9:50 Salt is good (beneficial), but if salt has lost its saltness, how will you restore [the saltness to] it? Have salt within yourselves, and be at peace {and} live in harmony with one another.

    Now recently, this week with Todd Bentley’s divorce announcement, I was reminded when I was a at week long seminar decades ago and the preacher was preaching great and I admit I started to hero worship the preacher but on the last Friday afternoon session the preacher had preached some falsehood.. and I was drastically horrified, dismayed, as to how this could be, could his whole week’s teaching now also be in error. Next I prayed and asked God how could that be? why did it occur? and God replied to me ” you had taken your eyes of me unto the preacher, and I had to show you what he, the preacher was really like.. many look up to man and not God.. we all need to focus solely on Jesus again and always.. .and even to get back to praying and fasting now too

    Healing, Todd Bentley, Florda, Lakeland, Revival, Latter rain

  9. August 19, 2008 11:06 am

    Scott, congratulations on being a prophet, but perhaps you can clarify exactly what you prophesied? Not that Todd would separate from his wife, as I proved by searching your blog for “separat”. Did you prophesy that he would be “involved with another woman that is not his wife”? I don’t remember seeing that specific prophecy. I accept that you “prophesied” that he was a false teacher, but the latest events do not prove that, as the most immoral person and in fact even the devil can teach truth. Perhaps you prophesied that Todd’s meetings in Lakeland would come to an end, but with no time given that sort of no-brainer is about as prophetic as “it is going to rain”. So where is your prophecy?

  10. August 19, 2008 11:31 am

    Peter,

    I was right. Deal with it. But since a godless and wicked generation asks for a sign I shall have to give you one. On July 17th in an article concerning you and your stubbornness and theological blindness I wrote that you would:

    defend him ad nauseum no matter what Todd Bentley did!

    Looking through your latest blog entrees and comments on other sites it turns out I was right.

    You can plant a “seed” into my prophetic ministry for only 10, 000 pounds that will surely be multiplied and returned to you with an added blessing.

    Oh, and I entered a bunch of misspelled words into my search bar and none of them came up either. How strange…

  11. August 19, 2008 1:19 pm

    Well, Scott, you have not been proved right about Todd’s general teaching, you just continue to assert that you are right. But I allow that your predicted correctly that I would continue to show proper Christian love even to an errant believer as commanded in James 5:19-20.

    I tried “separate” and “separating” in your search and still didn’t find anything. That’s because WordPress search matches strings, not complete words like Google.

  12. August 19, 2008 1:34 pm

    Come on man, “his general teachings?” Really? That’s the best you could do? Nearly everyone you know in the biblioblog community would agree with me on Todd’s “general teachings”. Seriously? Are you for real? And then in the next sentence suddenly Todd is errant according to your use of James 5? You really shouldn’t drink and type.

    James 5:

    My brothers and sisters, if anyone among you wanders from the truth and is brought back by another, you should know that whoever brings back a sinner from wandering will save the sinner’s soul from death and will cover a multitude of sins.

    If either of us were trying to accomplish the heart of this message, well I’m sorry Peter, but it was me. I have pointed out Todd’s error and even advised people to pray for him while you have got on your knees to Todd and worshiped him idolater. You’re a classic enabler which is sad for a man of your education and experience. He’s a man who is fallible in doctrine and practice, but you are too busy worshiping him and his false signs to see the truth. What are you afraid of? “Don’t say anything negative towards Todd or he may take something from me or stop me from experiencing God?” Repent, try worshiping God instead of a man, and your blindness may be healed. God is merciful.

    Not every doctrine is profitable, not every behavior is beneficial, not every experience is useful. There are some lines and guidelines to our Christian practice and belief and I see Todd as outside those lines in his “teaching” and certainly in his behavior.

    Does anything the Bible says at all on fruit even matter to you? Nope, not as long as there is a “sign” and GodTV says don’t question. Blind idolater: his doctrine is bad, and his fruit is rotten.

    I’m obviously quite frustrated with your attempts to rehabilitate Todd with tendentious theology and truncated biblical application, and then accusing me of being unforgiving or unloving because I pointed out his errors. Are you unloving and unforgiving because you disagree with me? Oh I see. You can point out error but if someone disagrees with you they are unloving. Didn’t we already talk about the name calling when someone disagrees with you? Yup we’ve already been down this road.

    To forgive someone they have to say sorry, to correct someone they have to see their error. These are necessary first steps. Quite simple actually. Unfortunately, even this simple formula is too complicated for you to add up.

    You can come here and comment–and I will work on forgiveness and my Christian charity–but leave the Bentley idolatry elsewhere: Insous estin kurios at Scotteriology thank you.

  13. Jake permalink
    August 19, 2008 2:13 pm

    So… Oasis has a new single out. It’s pretty awesome.

  14. August 19, 2008 2:55 pm

    I agree that Todd has sinned and needs to say sorry to God and to his wife, but he should be given the chance to do so in private in his own way. Meanwhile, can we agree that we should pray for him and Shonnah, as both you and I have called for?

    Amen! Jesus is Lord!

  15. August 19, 2008 3:09 pm

    “can we agree that we should pray for him and Shonnah, as both you and I have called for?”

    Yes, and their kids…

    “Amen! Jesus is Lord!”

    Amen

  16. August 19, 2008 7:25 pm

    Jake,

    Did you catch Scott dropping the transliterated Greek without even offering a translation for the plebes? He rocks.

    Also, the prophecy he referenced again prior to its fulfillment, namely, implying he called Bentley’s peccadillo, when really he was re-prophesying Peter’s reaction to said peccadillo. I’m on the edge of my seat down here. Really I am.

    Well played, Scott. Well played, indeed. 😉

  17. Jake permalink
    August 19, 2008 8:09 pm

    Brian, your pun puts me in a state that is simultaneously morbidly embarrassed and yet completely in awe of you. Well done sir.

    JESUS IS LOURD!

  18. windy permalink
    August 19, 2008 9:54 pm

    yes thank you Scott, and i was one of those small questioning voices looking for someone to tell me no you’re not crazy, it really is hot and the sky is still blue. and i must say it really was QUIET out there. i think i still have some kind of thickened brain condition from all those typical inane responses you mention and that we are all familiar with by now. by the way i think i love you haha.

  19. March 18, 2010 11:25 pm

    EMERGENT CHURCH HERETIC TODD BENTLEY SERMON JAM WARNING

Trackbacks

  1. In the Spirit of Lakeland - some self promotion.

Leave a comment